Newspapers play a significant role in shaping public opinions and beliefs. Do you consider this to be a positive or negative development? Explain your viewpoint with reasons and include appropriate examples based on your knowledge or experiences.

It is argued that newspapers play a significant role in shaping public opinions and beliefs. In this essay i want to explore both postive and negative arguements and why I think it is mostly a negative development. For many people newspapers are the main source for new information and events happening in this world. They can share big breakthroughs in sience silence but also horrific events like the war in Ukraine. Thanks to their high reliability and adjustement to the internet they are popular not just amongst old peolpe, but also gain reputation under young people. Due to this, most newspapers are very trusted with their information and often are beeing used as source for other articles. However, there is a big risk coming with such trust and high reputation, as fake news can spread very easily and there are few ways to question newspaper articles. Nowadays propaganda gets spread very fast and most people believe them as they have no other choice. The main factor fake news are distributed is that unbelievable news that have never been heard before get sold much quicker than "normal" news. With the big variety of newspapers everyone has to stand out from the others, and the easiest solution to this problem is to disperse fake information in their newsletter. In summary, whilst newspaper can be a good way to stay up to date, it becomes significantly harder to question articles and distinguish between what is right and what is wrong. I firmly believe that newspapers should be held accountable for spreading misinformation and they should only inform, rather then have an opinion on certain topics.