Governments give a lot of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been used elsewhere. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Governments greatly invest in artists. Some people argue that this is unnecessary spending while others believe that it is essential to support the arts industry. Although other public sectors such as education, health and transportation are important, however I believe that the arts should not be neglected because it serves as a great source of income for a country and enhances preservation of culture and tradition. Governments allocate a lot funds to the creative industry and some citizens think it is a waste of money because other sectors such as health, education and transport should be priortised prioritized instead. They are of the opinion that these public services should receive greater funding because they are more important. For example, according to reports in Nigeria, there is a notable rise in mortality rates because of inaccessible and expensive healthcare services. As a result of this, many people suffering from chronic diseases such as cancer, hypertension and diabetes die due to long waiting times. However, I believe arts should also be supported because it is equally important. In addition, it is imperative that the creative industry should receive enough funding from governments because it promotes preservation of cultural heritage and generates revenue for a nation via tourism. When students are educated on the history of their nation's arts, this creates a sense of identity and allows them to deeply value their culture a lot more. Furthermore, when governments spend more money on the creative sector of their countries such as National Galleries, Theatres and Museums, this enhances the appearance of tourist attraction sites thereby increasing the number of vistors travelling across the globe to appreciate certain monuments and in turn generating income for governments. For instance, The Government of the United Kingdom invests largely in their arts and this attracts many foreigners to visit various tourist attraction areas such as The British Museum and Tate Modern. In conclusion, governments support the arts industry but some people opine that it is unnecessary spending while, others believe that it helps a country's economy and preserves their cultural norms and practices.