The natural resources such as oil, forests, and freshwater are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does this cause? How can we solve these problems?

The fact is that natural resources like oil, forests and freshwater are depleting quickly. In this essay, I will point out the reasons behind this issue and give some reasonable measures to solve this problem. There are various issues which are caused by the over-consumption of natural resources. One of the main reasons is from the people’s greed such as excessive exploitation and clearance of forests for cultivation, thereby leading to natural habitat loss and a decline in the number of species. If this situation continues, they may even be on the verge of extinction. Secondly, in many parts of the world, the human population is growing at a faster rate. For example, big countries like India and China need more space for building houses which leads to deforestation and consumption of resources to satisfy their basic necessities. In addition, people tend to drive their private cars to work, releasing a large amount of carbon dioxide because most of the car’s energy is run on fossil fuels which contributes to climate change and global warming. These cases are causing a significant amount of damage to natural resources. Some solutions can be adopted to improve the situation. Firstly, the government should enforce strict industrialization regulations, set the limits of factories in a specific area or limit production activities to ensure proper treatment of their waste and rational use of resources that are gradually exhausted. Regarding each individual’s perception, we can preserve these essential natural resources by doing simple things. For instance, we can use public transport instead of private vehicles, save energy at home as well as in public places and participate in local tree-planting activities. To sum up, some natural resources are gradually exhausted by over-consumption of necessary resources, but I believe that these issues can certainly be solved by taking different solutions.