The prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

It is suggested that the prevention of health problems is more vital than medical intervention, and governments should take it into consideration when allocating budget. I partially agree with the provided statement because prevention of diseases can be effective in some cases because promoting healthy lifestyle can really decrease the illness rates, however, some illnesses can progress in a very short period of time besides being hidden, so the prevention becomes inefficient. The primary reason why I support the idea is that prevention of health problems can significantly reduce potential risks of health deterioration and the emergence of illnesses. In that case, when setting their policies, governments should reflect that in their funding to use sources powerfully. A large number of preventable diseases occur due to sedentary lifestyle, unhealthy nutrition as well as stress. So if these factors get precluded or at least minimised by fostering healthy habits and boosting health awareness initiatives by government bodies, positive results can be achieved. For example, walking outside for 1 hour significantly reduces stress which can lead both to physical and mental disorders. Whilst prevention is important, sometimes, it can be unsuccessful. Being severe, some kinds of illnesses cannot be prevented because of the lack of knowledge, practice and treatment methods. They can progress hiddenly and a person would not feel any serious pain; an individual will be unaware of the process going on in his or her organism. In that case, prevention cannot help much, while detection and diagnosis can cure them. For instance, cancer is not preventable, but it can be cured if intervention is done in the true time. To conclude, many think that governments should allocate more funding for health prevention, rather than treatment. I partially agree with that idea as not all illnesses are easy to prevent or they need progressive treatment instead of prevention.