In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates a problem for governments. Other people think they are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

The growth of the population has become a matter of great concern. Some countries include a relatively large number of elderly people, which has been argued that this will cause issues to the governments, while others believe it will be good for society. Although older people do add a lot of value, in my opinion, the advantages are a few compared to that of nations with younger citizens. Having a younger population is essential and has many advantages for several reasons. Firstly, the younger generations are the ones governments use in wars, which is something essential that older people cannot be a part of. In the Ukrainian war against Russia, a recent study has shown that Ukrainian soldiers are all above the age of 25 and under 45. In addition to that, societies that have mainly aged citizens are weak in the economy because they cannot perform as good as younger people. Secondly, younger citizens are better at sports. As an example, northern countries excel at Olympics only because of the skilled youngsters residing there. Furthermore, even though older people have a life experience, they lack physical strength and cannot participate in certain problems that are demanded by the industry. Lastly, nations made basically of older people are not able to make children, eventually leading to the end of them. In conclusion, although older people are important and helpful in some parts, I strongly argue that the disadvantages of having an aging population can beat the advantages. Younger people are more physically strong and will definitely be useful to a nation under any circumstances.