Some people think that tourism benefits the host country. Others think that tourism causes problems for the host country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many individuals think that tourism gives advantages to the host country, while others think that tourism has a bad impact on the host country. I agree with the latter statement since I saw much evidence from my own country. Moreover, this essay will elaborate on both of these views, for instance how tourism gives many job opportunities, but it also generates crimes. Many countries get their funding from the tourism industry. This circumstance happens because this field produces some job opportunities, such as staff for hotels or restaurants. To illustrate, Bali, which is one of the famous cities in Indonesia, has many tourists who want to go there for a holiday and expatriates who want to stay there. Some global investors see this situation as a lucrative opportunity. Therefore, they make many businesses in Bali, from accommodations, restaurants, cafes, etc. Many local people have chance to work in those places. This is a positive value for a country to reduce the unemployment rate and enhance the state's income. However, tourism can bring drawbacks for the host country, such as criminals and behavioural changes in society. To illustrate, lately, some media in Indonesia published articles about Bali's crimes have gotten higher than before. Many tourists do some illegal activities, such as narcotics trade, unlicensed profession, etc. Moreover, some expatriates bring their cultures to Indonesia and few of them have a negative effect on citizens, especially adolescents and young adults. For instance, drinking alcohol, wearing skimpy outfits, etc. Many young local people are influenced and follow their trends. It has a negative impact on social cultures. In conclusion, I agree that the disadvantages of tourism to the host country outweigh the advantages. Tourism causes some people to commit crimes and negative behaviours. Thus, the government should make regulations to prevent those activities.