the working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

There are debates about shifting from a five-day workweek to a four-day one to improve work-life balance. This initiative is becoming incredibly popular among the population in recent years. Personally, I partially agree with this idea and think that it has both the advantages and the disadvantages which I will explain in the essay. To begin with, due to the high standard of living, people do not think anymore how to earn money for the daily necessities. Most of the population in the developed countries lives in comfotable conditions and focuses more on family and themselves. Thus, this group of people prefers working less to have opportunities brings up their children, travels around the world to learn about cultures and traditions other people and develops their talants. On the other hand, this approach focuses just on the present and ignores the potential problems which can arise in the future. It is undeniable that a four-day workweek leads to the decrease of production which, in turn, causes the deterioration of the national economy in general. As a result, the living conditions for future generations will worsen significantly over the years. Moreover, some scientific research asserts that workers with a four-day workweek not only enjoy the weekend less but also are more prone to depression. Summing up, I tend to believe that a shorter workweek helps to strengthen friendships and family bonds but can deteriorate the national economy and even the mental health of the population. Therefore, it is an extremely important to find a balance between an individual welfare and the prosperity of the whole nation.