Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city centre. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis, and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages of having vehicle-free days outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the number of traffic has been increased. To overcome this some urban areas have special days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned in the city centre. And individuals are encouraged to use public transportation to commute. This development has more merits than its demerits which I will discuss with related examples in the following essay. To begin with, several advantages can be put forth to support it. The predominant benefit is that air pollution has decreased in the city centre area due to restriction of certain types of vehicles on special days. For example, because of less use of private cars, trucks, and motorcycles in the downtown area, the number of carbon dioxide has reduced which can be beneficial for individuals’ health. Another merit is that people can easily enjoy their street shopping without any threat of accidents. Not only that this development is spreading awareness among society to use public transportation. On the other hand, we cannot ignore that old and disabled people have to suffer some problems to reach their destination as they are not able to walk properly on the street. A study by the University of Waterloo mentioned that 40% of older people in the community are unable to purchase things from shops in the city centre due to ban of private vehicles on certain days. To conclude, vehicle-free days in the busy areas have numerous benefits as they reduce pollution, as well as helpful for people to do shopping conveniently and provide knowledge to use more public transportation. However, this change is not beneficial for old age individuals and people who are suffering from some issues.