Some people think the news has no connection to people's lives, so then it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

It is widely believed that it is unuseful to read newspaper and get up-to-date through media outlets and television. I strongly disagree to what it is said because TV news and newspaper aims to inform citizens on what it is happening all around the world, thus raising awarness on important issues.  Every 10 minutes, plenty of facts happen in the world. Take the Russian aggression to Ukraine, the war in Gaza or Trump tarrifs looming on world commercial trading. Without television and news, few people would be aware of the state of art of these conflicts and political issues. In fact, news -related programs aims to teach and inform people, often simplyfing tough facts and this helps in fostering a deeper understanding of socio-political issues. Moreover, news addresses plethora of contents, from financial news and job markets, to weather updates and warnings that can affect daily activities and safety. Another compelling reason worth to mention is that political news allow citizens to stay informed about governmental policies and elections, encouraging democratic participation and allowing people to make informed decisions. For example, on 8-9 June in Italy there will be the vote for 5 referendum and, without news outlet speaking about the importance of these and the aims under it, most of citizens may be totally disinformed and unable to make a choice. Finally, television and the majority of media outlets offer contents free of charge and they are easily accessible for all. In conclusion, I completely disagree that newspaper and television are not directly related to people's lives because they are the most effective way to be informed, to make informed decisions and they neither require economic effort.