Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do advantages of this trend outweigh disadvantages?

It is becoming more popular for couples to decide to have children later in their life. There are a lot of factors as to why this is becoming a trend at present, and it will be discussed further in this essay. It is noticeable nowadays that partners, especially those that are in their 30s, are more focused on their career build-up prior to moving to the next stage in their lives. I have to say that one reason is that they reflect on their parents’ mistakes. They have witnessed the hardship of becoming a parent at an early age. Especially, when you are a big family. The focus is more on survival. Thus, the older siblings will have to work hard to be able to sustain their day-to-day lives because having a kid is a huge responsibility. So how much more if you are a family of 5. Whereas, when you are in your 30s, you are not only that you are financially prepared but also, you have gained more experience. You have undergone a lot of life’s challenges thus much more prepared for the next one. When you have both the earnings and the self-actualization, there will be less tendency for the child to become a burden. While it is true that having offspring later in life is more advantageous. The people who are in the baby boomer generation were able to have a longer bond with their children because they were able to witness them grow and build their own family as well thus, they have witnessed their grandchildren and their grand grandchildren.