Some people say that the main purpose of television should be education while others say it should be for entertainment only. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are two contrasting views when it comes to the role of television in our lives. As, it is generally acknowledged by some individuals that its primary purpose should be education, while others argue by supporting that it should focus only on entertainment. Both notions are figurative in nature, and thus critical evaluation is required prior to framing a logical opinion. With regards to the possible reasons focusing on use of television for education is its potential to inform and inspire viewers is perhaps the most salient one. To make it more clear, when they watch television programs, documentaries and educational channels, they directly or indirectly somehow learn valuable sources of knowledge, cultures and historical events which engage audiences in meaningful ways and making learning enjoyable and accessible. For instance, children who regularly watch programs like National Geographic Kids and Discovery usually develop strong skills, as these shows introduce real concepts through stories. On the whole, the above explanation vividly illustrates how television serve as an invaluable tool for cognitive growth. However, the principle reason behind supporting television as a medium for entertainment is mainly linked with the demands and stresses of daily life. In others words, this propose people to watch television for relaxation and enjoyment expecting recharge. For an example, the popularity of soap operas and comedy programs reflects a societal preference and light entertainment rather than educational value. As a result, this can leading people to believe that television is used only for entertainment. In conclusion, both notions have their own justifications which can neither be overlooked nor be under estimated, whereas, I believe that television serve both educational and entertainment purposes effectively.