Moblie phones and the internet brings a lot of benefits to people nowadays. However, older people use them the least. In what aspects do mobile phones and the internet benefit older people? How can we encourage them to use these technologies?

Although mobile phones and the internet are common tools in modern life, older people seem to be barely favoured by them. This essay will delve into the benefits that technology can bring to the elderly before discussing possible ways to encourage its usage. Initially, mobile phones and the internet narrowed the gap between old and young generations due to the offer of convenient communication access. For example, video calls allow the elderly to contact their children immediately without geographical limits. Moreover, social media bridges old people with the world through exposure to daily news and information. This will broaden their life circles and encourage them to step out of their comfort zones. According to the aforementioned, contemporary technologies can really contribute to positive outcomes for the older generation. However, one of the main barriers between older people and technological tools is that they are not familiar with the use of these tools. Therefore, support from family members plays a crucial role in building confidence in using them. Individuals should provide continuous and patient support in daily usage. Furthermore, companies, such as Apple, offer regular campaigns, which teach their consumers to better use their products. These kinds of activities can effectively promote older people's familiarity with modern technology. To sum up, the development of technology has improved people's lives in modern society, which older generations can definitely take advantage of. Hence, it is important that individuals support the elderly with consistency and patience, while encouraging them to attend company campaigns to effectively increase their familiarity.