There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children, Dscuss the advantages and disadvantages for couple who decide to do this.

Towards modern life, there has been a growing number of “Double Income No Kids” or DINK lifestyle. This is because procreation possess some pros and cons. Entering parenthood mean a range of responsibilities, not only to economically provide but also to nurture. Thus, time, career, and couple’s aspirations will become considerations on deciding have or not to have. However, by having kids, parents could continue lineage and might have someone to takecare of them when into old age. Some couples without kids tend to have more time to develop themselves as a person or as a couple. As a couple, they could have more quality time to do things together, such as travelling, doing hobbies, or enjoying life without more responsibilities due to nurturing a child. Meanwhile as a person, they can plan some life’s aspiration including career, bussiness, higher education, and wealth. The economic stability become priority for couples, particularly for those who live in pricey city. Rising a kid means staggered economic burden in the future since, for instance in Indonesia, the budget to nurture a kid with proper life and education (preschool to university degree) needs averagely IDR 1.500.000.000. quality time of couple On the other hand, some negative impacts due to "DINK" lifestyle could not be overlooked. The economic condition of a country depends heavily on young population. Thus, the zero birth would disturb the economic state of the country due to lack of working age, thus, a country only depend on elderly people. Moreover, there are some stigmas regarding procreations. The “dink” couple might receive negative comments or threats from relatives or society because of opposing religion and cultural belief on procreation. In addition, couples without kids may bear of loneliness in old age. In conclusion, a popular "DINK" lifestyle brings out some pros and cons to consider. Not having a baby means less burden on couple's budget, however this zero birth trend will slowly bring negative impact to the economy of the state. However, the positive attitude towards procreation bring happiness to family and might beneficial to elderly parents.