Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

In today's society, advertisements play a significant role in influencing individuals to purchase. Some argue that advertising forces us to purchase unnecessary stuff as well, while others refute that influence by advertising creates our lives much better and efficient. I mostly agree with the view that individuals often purchase needless things due to being influenced by advertising. This essay discusses my views about this statement based on the evidence that researchers have demonstrated. This tendency of people to purchase unnecessary things is often seen in the food industry. In Australia, the advertising industry has developed significantly compared to a decade ago. As advertising skills and numbers increased, the number of children who have experienced overweight or obesity increased as well. The Australian Institute of Health portrayed the results of the survey. They represented that there are more than 470 million young children aged between 5 to 19 who have experienced being overweight in Australia. They added, more than 90% of them answered that they often consume comfort food, which is fast food, due to being influenced by ads. These outcomes support the notion that advertising is forceful in buying things that they don't need. In addition, advertising often stimulates our emotions and desires, making people believe that purchasing certain products will improve their happiness level or social status. For example, advertisements for beauty products frequently suggest that having these items might lead to greater success. This could be pressure for individuals to buy things they do not need, simply to fit into societal expectations created by these advertisements. However, some advertisements promote to us new products that make our lives more convenient. For example, advertisements from dison, they always encourage us to improve better quality of our lives with their products. In conclusion, while advertisements can introduce innovative products that can improve our quality of life, they also strongly influence people to purchase items they do not necessarily need. This is especially evident in industries like food and beauty. Emotional appeal and societal pressure are used to appeal to consumers' behaviour. Therefore, I mostly agree that advertising often leads individuals to make unnecessary purchases, and it is important for consumers to be aware of this influence and make thoughtful choices.