Some people believe that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of building new roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals argue that government should invest more in public transportation rather than construct new roads. I strongly believe that invest in public transportation is beneficial for people's comfort and convenience in their daily life. By investing for public transportation improvement the government is taking action to reduce traffic in their area. Many transportation option such as buses or trains should be options encourage people to take public transport, which are cheaper and convenient. Furthermore, if everyone uses public transport, the highway can be used for emergencies without causing congestion, such as for the hospital and police emergency. For instance, in Singapore, as one of the best countries with advanced public transport, they had MRT (Mass Rail Transport) which can reach almost all areas in Singapore with lower price and long service time, and as a result most individuals prefer to take MRT, instead of their own transport. Moreover, investing a significant portion of government's budget on public transport advancement will help to increase air quality in their country. Many people will leave their cars at home, which reduce air pollution caused by vehicle emission. In addition, not only improve environmental air but also people's health, because usually they had to walk to nearest public transportation terminal or station. For instance, In Japan, because they have a good public transportation condition, cities have fresh and clean air, and there are numerous elderly who can still walk easily and work since they have to take a long walk to station in their young aged. In conclusion, many people may feel building new roads is essential rather than public transport advancement. Therefore, I firmly believe that focusing on public transport is a positive development for individuals productivity, money saving, and their health.