Some people believe that violent punishment is better to train a child, while others argue that there are other effective methods to do this. Discuss the advantage and disadvantages of beating up a child

It is thought by some that beating up a child is better to discipline a child, while others believe that there are different effective ways to train a child. The main benefit of beating up children is that it tecahes them valuable lessons. However, there are significant downsides such as promoting violence and damaging parent- child relationship. It is important to note that it is beneficial to discipline children by using physical punishment approach. Furthermore, wounds are inflicted on children as they are beaten up. This enables them remember their offences and prevents them from misbehaving again because of the harm and pain they suffer as they are being beaten up. For example, recent studies in Nigeria show that children who are punished physically often turn out to be upright members of society. One major demerit of physically punishing children is that it encourages violence because children that are scolded in a violent manner continue the cycle of violence which is detrimental to society as a whole. Additionally, it destroys parent- child relationship as children brought up this way lose a sense of respect for their parents and develop resentment towards them instead. This instills fear, anxiety and low self-esteem in them and they grow up to become badly behaved adults in society. Rather than beating them up, children should be trained with effective commuication, clear boundaries and rewarded for being well-behaved by purchading gifts and getting treats for them. For instance, in my country, Tanzania, it can be observed that children who were brought up with this approach become morally decadent which has a negative impact on society. In conclusion, using harmful ways to scold a child has postive outcomes like promoting valuable life lessons. However, some drawbacks involve encouraging violence and destroying parent- child relationships.