Some people think that violent punishment is better to train a child, while others argue that there are effective methods to do this. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages.

It is often thought by some that using a violent punishment approach to train a child is better, while others think that positive reinforcement is much better. Although physical punishment leads to immediate obedience, I believe the drawbacks outnumber the advantages because it promotes violence and physical punishment damages a child psychologically and emotionally. On the one hand, the main reason people believe Physical punishment is better is because it leads to quick obedience and adherence to instructions. This is because when children know the consequences of their actions, they tend to behave properly as opposed to when they are unaware that their actions are wrong and go ahead to misbehave. Furthermore, wounds are inflicted on them when they are beaten and the pain makes them remember their misbehaviour which enables them become morally upright. For example, in Nigeria, it can be observed that children who are disciplined violently turn out to become better individuals in society rather than those who are not. On the other hand, the disadvantage of being beaten up as a child encourages violence as such children see this as normal behaviour. They grow up to become aggressive individuals and continue the cycle of violence which is detrimental to society at large. Additionally, physical punishment causes and physical and emotional harm to children. They grow up to become adults with fear, anxiety and low self-esteem. This is because they lose a sense of respect for their parents and fear them which leads to resentment. For instance, in my country, people who are brought up in this violent manner turn out to become morally decadent individuals which is detrimental to society as a whole. In conclusion, some people think that it is better to scold children by beating them up, while others think that gentle parenting is a much better approach in raising children. This essay believes that although violently punishing a child fosters immediate obedience, it causes violence and encourages mentally and physically damaged individuals in society.