Some people believe that living in a city offers greater opportunities and advantages, while others think that life in the countryside is more beneficial. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that life in the countryside and the city have many differences. This essay will explore some of the benefits of these two lifestyles and explain the reasoning behind my opinion that living in the city is more beneficial. On the one hand, some people will argue that living in the countryside in a farmhouse brings peace. For example, residents of rural areas may encounter farm animals, birds, natural hills and waterfalls on a regular basis, all of which are likely to contribute to improving their mental health. Hence, people are likely to lead happier lifestyles. Furthermore, living costs in those areas may be lower, due to locally produced groceries and cheaper values of property. Therefore, residents are less likely to be chasing after money and can spend more time focusing on family and personal wellbeing. Having said that, I believe living in the center brings huge benefits. For instance, the Manchester town centre, where I currently live, is concentrated with various facilities of all sectors within short walking distance. I could step out of my apartment and can see high street stores, evening market stalls, leisure centres, hair salons, restaurants and grocery stores. Having easy access to such necessities may save time that can potentially be used productively to focus on work or education. Whereas if I lived in the countryside, I might have to spend a day simply to get a haircut. In conclusion, although residents of rural areas may experience peace through connecting with nature, living in the city provides quick access to a wider range of facilities.