The amount of time spent on traveling to work has significantly increased in the past few decades. Discuss the causes and effects of this situation, and provide possible solutions.

It is believed that last decades people spend more time on commuting to work. It might cause due to several reasons like urban sprawl, traffic conjestion, disfunction of public transport. While these problems exist, I will also describe possible solutions to them. The first reason behind long travelling time can be location of jobs. It implies that these days most of the companies prefer to settle down in city centers due to higher access of services; including transporation and food. For example, the city centre of Toronto is full of different types of offices and food industry businesses, for which most of people spend hours of travelling due to using different types of transporttaion in order to reach the destination. Without doubt, the placement of jobs make people to spend most of their time just on travelling and at the end they feel exhausted. Secondly, other reason which becomes an issue of the 21st century is an increasing number of vehicles on the roads. It means that the increasing number of cars or transportation on the roads leads to the higher congestion from year to year, and for this reason people commute longer the same distances than it was before. Moreover, another cause might be the disfunction of public transportation which is widely used by working people. For example, one of the frequently used types of public transportion in Toronto is a subway; however, despite of many lines of the subway, people might face delays due to some disfunctions. These things make people feel anger as they are usually late for these unforessen situations. Nevertheless, several solutions also exist to improve these problems. One of them is to increase branches of companies throughout the country, and especially when a country is big. the second solution improve schedules of ransportation and to check theri functioning before starting the day. In conclusion, while these problems exist with traveling, however it is possible to bring solutions which might mitigate people's life and not to spend more time on roads.