Some people think that to lead a successful life, a university degree is important. Others believe that this is no longer true nowadays. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this modern world, the issue of whether the existence of schools is necessary or not has been widely debated. Some people believe that schools are no longer a must, due to the prevalence of the Internet nowadays. In this essay, I will explain why I strongly disagree with this statement. Although being able to acquire information through the Internet, children may be addicted to video games or social media, which both severely distract their studies badly. Some of them even suffer from eye strain and nearsightedness because of the prolonged use of screens without taking breaks properly. Lastly, the majority of students tend to develop a sedentary lifestyle, causing them to risk chronic diseases such as obesity and hypertension. In contrast, schools typically have strict policies regarding the use of the Internet and phones. Moreover, they establish courses requiring students to do outdoor exercises, so the concerns can be easily solved. Besides learning knowledge, schools provide other basic educational resources to children in my opinion. First of all, when individuals are involved in group activities or discussions, they will learn about communication skills, teamwork abilities, and time management. In addition, only teachers, instead of computers, can address students’ learning problems and inspire them to build confidence to face the challenges. Also, children sometimes have questions about their future careers, and suggestions from teachers are much more meaningful than anonymous Internet uses or AI. In conclusion, even if the Internet enables people to learn on their own, I believe that schools still play a crucial role in society and are necessary for providing social experiences and guiding mentors.