Some people think that the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals believe that the best solution to solve the environmental issues consists of rising fuel prices. I agree with this idea although there are also other measures which can be taken to tackle them. By increasing the cost of fuel, the people are pushed to choose more eco-friendly alternatives, such as electric and hybrid vehicles. This shift will reduce significantly the emission of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, which is one the main causes of environmental problems. Nowadays, for example, many cities around the world, Rome and Paris for instance, are prohibiting fuel -powered vehicles which consume fuel in the centre of the city, leading to a drastic improvement of the quality of the air in these areas. However, it is important to acknowledge that there are also other factors which have negative impact on the environment. To mention some of them, manufacturing industries’ pollution, the forest deforestation and the use of non-recyclable materials. To solve these kinds of factors, the engagement from government and individuals is crucial. Indeed, the government should introduce taxes for those firms which register a level of pollution over an acceptable threshold, while people should adopt more frequently ‘’green’’ habits, like using only recycled materials and doing the separate waste collection. In conclusion, while I firmly believe that by rising the fuel cost is indeed the best method to face the environmental controversies since it would bring people to make “greener” choices, it is important to know that there are also other figures which damage the environment and both public and private actions should be taken to address them.