In many countries, people are working increasingly longer hours. What are reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative effect?

It has been observed that people spend a large amount of working time in some nations. The author firmly believes that this trend is mainly caused by the desire of promotion and financial demands which make it completely advantageous for social wealth. One key driver of spending longer time at work is the promotion opportunities. In other words, many young individuals bury themselves in a large number of tasks and stay at their workplaces longer because they are attempt to create profound impression to their colleagues and upper managers. As a result, most workers with the same mindset which eventuates in the same approach to seek better promotion since they hope this method will be as effective as they expected while their leaders are really not interested in these. Another primary reason is the needs in improving individual financial positions. To clarify, young employees encounter frequent financial crisis that make them struggle in allocate the expenses of their lives, meanwhile staying more focused on their works may offer extra rewards that meet their fundamental requirements. Consequently, all of them acknowledge that the more diligent they are, the more well-paid they will be, and most of them continue to work longer due to this benefit. Admittedly, this phenomenon is absolutely beneficial owing to economic gain. That is to say, workforce who drives themselves to work more generally substantially contributes to the economic growth because they enhance their overall productivity or increase sheer number of products which offer worthy profits for companies and organizations. Then, the revenues will be utilized to assist the poor or innovate technology, infrastructure that later reinforces the societies’ possession. In conclusion, I believe that better promotion possibility and financial needs are the important causes of this tendency. Eventually, this trend is absolutely positive because it plays a role in fostering an affluent societies.