Some people think individuals should be responsible for reducing pollution, while others argue that it is the government’s duty. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that everyone has the responsibility to reduce pollution, while others claim that the government should be the one to address the problem. In my opinion, I fully agree with the viewpoint that protecting the environment requires every human being’s effort. This essay will discuss both perspectives and my reasonings. First of all, governments have the power to enforce laws. The government can regulate industries, impose fines on polluters, and set national goals for achieving net-zero emissions in 2050. For example, public companies in Taiwan should report their carbon emissions annually to the regulatory institutions. Furthermore, for those who emitted more than the expected amount, they have to pay for their extra pollution to fund the official projects for developing low-carbon technologies. Thus, the mandatory power not only combats the pollution but also encourages the innovative solutions. However, personal habits is the fundamental factor causing pollution. Our daily routine from how we commute to work to what we eat for meals accounts for the main emissions. For instance, whether we drive to our workplace or we take the public transportation system leads to huge difference in carbon emissions. Moreover, those who frequently renew their wardrobes to catch up with fast fashion cause astonishing amount of garbage, such as the shipping box from online shopping and the discarded outfit in worse quality. Therefore, the consumer’s preference and behavior would influence how companies provide their service and products, causing the impact across the supply chain accordingly. In conclusion, the law serves as an effective tool to drive down the pollution, wheareas the individual lifestyle drives how the enterprises operate their businesses. Hence, it is the shared responsibility for everyone to make the positive change to create a better living environment.