Some people believe genetic engineering is a positive development that can improve human life. Others think it poses serious risks to society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people claim that genetic engineering provides some positive impacts on human life. Others believe that it has many negative effects on society. This essay will discuss both views. Let’s begin by talking about the positive development, some argue that genetic engineering is beneficial. The medical researchers suggest that rare diseases, such as hemophilia which is a hereditary illness, can be cured by life-saving treatments, such as gene editing. It is their belief that it can be done by replacing one of the letters in a patient’s DNA. Moreover, biotech corporation executives claim that food scarcity, can be addressed by focusing on biotechnology. This is because biotech engineering is a precise field to governments on producing genetically modified organisms (GMOs). This can increase the number of food supply due to its role on fastening the production of certain food. For example, chicken herd in farm can reproduce twice faster rather than ordinary chicken. On the other hand, some people and religious representatives disagree with this method. Many are still afraid that genetic engineering, especially in medication, can be dangerous for human being. For example, gene splicing, where one of the genes in the DNA is changed with the new one, can lead to other genetic mutations. They claim that it could be even riskier and can create new serious diseases. Additionally, religious representatives say that it is immoral to undergo this method. There is also an argument that it is a playing God. They claim that what God has given to you is your destiny and it should not be modified. Thus, many said that it can shape society’s stereotypes towards science and religion. In conclusion, some say that genetic engineering is useful for society, while others feel that it is dangerous and immoral. Personally, I agree with this because if this is the best way for human to survive and to maintain their lives, we have to be grateful and should accept it to be applied as long as it has been proven for its safety and results.