Child trafficking has been brought to the forefront in recent years. What is the cause of this? What can be done to tackle it?

All across the globe, a troubling issue of trafficking children is taking place. The reasons behind this criminal activity are the ease of exploiting the children as well as not enough protection in place for the vulnerable young. In order to rectify this situation, laws need to be legislated on a global scale so the entire world can eradicate this complication altogether. At the root of the problem of child trafficking lies a fundamental cause, the fact that the young are easily persuaded and lured out of their homes and then forced into labor or worse, sold. While these children have no concept of what is happening as the kidnapping takes place, the culprits know very well and take full advantage, using any means possible to entice the young. To put it another way, the children who are only innocent and pregnable have no way of knowing how to handle the situation and instead comply without putting up a fight. Therefore, the criminals involved have a straightforward way to make a profit by abusing children ’s weakness, their innocence. Another explanation of why child trafficking occurs is how many impoverished countries ignore or simply fail to address that it is taking place. As a result, these children are trafficked for profit, where they are used for labor or even utilized in the sex trade and possibly even for their organs on the black-market. The law and law enforcement agencies in several developing nations are vague or do not extensively cover this crime, and even if they do, the corruption runs deep in the police force, allowing this crime to continue even in broad daylight. Meanwhile, the children are trapped in the system with no hope of a better life, victim of doing nothing but being young and born into a life of mistreatment. In order to solve the issue of trafficking of the young, focus needs to be put on the governments to mandate laws to ensure children are shielded from this social evil. Not only should the prosecution of trafficking cases be prioritized, but the guilty should be sentenced in a way that deters others from following the same path, perhaps with a lengthy prison sentence or even the death penalty. Furthermore, task forces should be put together with the sole purpose of preventing the kidnapping from taking place. For instance, they can use proven effective methods like setting up bait to lure the criminal before children are hurt. If done on a large enough scale throughout the world, it could drastically reduce the number of abductions. Last but not least, rescues should take place for children who are currently being exploited so as to allow them a chance at a real life. In summary, vulnerable youth along with loose laws allow the trafficking of children to run rampant. Solving it would involve government intervention in laws, law enforcement and also endless rescue missions.