Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the social concerns today relates to how to improve road safety and reduce traffic accidents. While it is commonly suggested that strict punishments for offences are the key to limiting the number of traffic accidents, others believe that there will be more effective measures to keep people safe while travelling on the streets. I’m going to discuss these opposing points of view. I myself strongly support the point of view of harsh punishment. On the one hand, it is argued that the punishments for those who break the driving laws should be severe. Firstly, harsh punishments like driving licence withdrawal will affect deeply to people ’s daily lives. It is also possible to say this method directly makes people ’s lives go out of order without a driving licence and then they will be more conscious of driving in the future. For instance, they cannot go to work every day as usual when their driving licence is withdrawn. As a result, they have to spend more money and time travelling by using taxis, buses etc. Secondly, an enormous fine would be a great way to keep people more cautious when driving. Losing a big sum of money always makes people feel regretful. They do not have to pay that fine if they take more control of their driving. On the other hand, it is strongly believed by others that there are some other ways like educational classes for offenders, posters on the roads about traffic safety etc to help people enhance their awareness of traffic issues which might affect their family and themselves if the accidents occur. People often have this opinion because they believe human beings are knowledgeable enough to follow the good things which advantageous to their own. A second point is that prevention is better than cure. A particularly good example here is when we drive carelessly, the risk of traffic accidents is very high. But no one wants the worst things to happen and then solve its side effects. So what the officers need to do is remind everybody constantly, let them understand deeply what is good or bad to each traveller and somehow they volunteer to obey the rules to protect themselves first In conclusion, it is commonly thought that serious punishment for driving offences is the major factor to curtail the risk of traffic accidents meanwhile, others assume that there are still different measures to keep road safety. Personally, I tend to believe that strong punishment is a more effective method. People will be scared of the disadvantages of severe fines and change their attitudes as well as actions quickly in a better manner.