Many people believe cities should not try to preserve its old, historic buildings and instead, they should destroy them and replace them with modern buildings. To what extent do you agree?

The notion of metropolises protecting their ancient buildings or rebuild or more modernized ones is argued. The writer of this essay fully agrees with preserving old buildings as they act as profitable tourist attractions as well as a form of respect for the city founders. It is vital to recognize that historic sites help generate revenue for cities. Simply put, these locations hold a remarkable number of cultural as well as historical reference, making them appropriate destinations for travelers to sightsee. Furthermore, by charging entry fees to these sites, cities can generate substantial income. For example, The Independence Palace, which was once the home of Vietnam’s Southern president, has been turned into a popular attraction. Because of this, governments can allocate these profits to fund civic projects. Therefore, preserving ancient city sites is a financially rewarding decision. Another key justification for sustaining old buildings is that it shows respect for the city’s heritage. The state of a city is a reflection of the efforts of those who built it. If we were to destroy them, we would be devaluing the efforts of those cities’ ancestors. As a result, by preserving these buildings we can instill a sense of respect in current citizens for their predecessors. In conclusion, preserving the condition of historic sites is beneficial through boosting tourism as well as providing us with a view into history.