For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Throughout the history, reading, writing, and mathematics remained as necessary sections of education. However, some individuals claim that computer skills should be added to this list after an increase in computer use in the wide range of areas. I agree with this statament due to the incessant innovations in technology, which require people to catch recent developments, and the replacement of jobs with artificial intelligent. First of all, it is important to acknowledge that everything is changing because of technological advancements. Technology itself is not exempt from this. While three other parts of education remain relatively stable as the years past, a new feature for computers or other electronic devices is introduced every day. In order to be called as an educated person, it is demanded to be aware of recent improvements. For example, at the beginning of the century, it was sufficient to know how to start a computer and type a text on Microsoft Word, which was a great asset on one's CV. Yet two decades later, recruiters do not even consider this as a skill, rather a basic knowledge that everyone must know. In addition, artificial intelligent is used within most companies to facilitate the work. Automated processes enable people to read, write, and even solve complicated mathematical problem within seconds. As a result, the need for experts in abovementioned realms decline, while the demand for skilled workers who know to get requested results rise day-by-day. For example, a book printing company use more AI technology to gather statistics, which requires extensive knowledge in the field. In conclusion, although the history, reading, writing, and math stayed consistent as important parts of education during the centuries, the need for computer skills show undeniable increase. In my opinion, computer skills should be the number one required skillset because of continuous developments in technology and artificial intelligent.