Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

In these days, there are a plethora of nations that aim to develop their quality of living conditions via economic improvement, while it can affect detrimentally to many essential social values. Although alleviation in casual life may cause regression in mentality, I believe its drawbacks are prevailed by the merits. On the one hand, obtaining something easily with less effort deters community from being more responsible for not only themselves but also their environment. For example, when an adult gets a high wage with less work, the more likely he becomes insensitive to his workmates, family, and friends, because he does not put much effort into something. As a result, everything is becoming less valuable for him. Therefore, community begin to lose their connection with others dramatically, and living in harmony becomes torture. On the other hand, these issues are not insurmountable, and the benefits cannot be underestimated. First, the development of the standard of living is a very necessary step in the twenty-first century, especially in terms of the economy. Considering that there are a myriad of people who have concerns about their future at the moment. It is more likely caused by the shortage of money. Thus, improvement in their salary can help them to get rid of this psychological situation. Second, humans need a source of motivation to work rigorously, as jobs are getting harder day by day. In fact, when people have ambition in their duties, the quality of results satisfies both workers and employees. Accordingly, people should earn more money in order to focus their attention completely on their work. In conclusion, while the disadvantages of making better living conditions cannot be ignored in terms of losing moral values, I argue that the benefits overshadow them. Especially, working conditions today are not good enough to maintain both mental and physical health.