In some countries at secondary or high school, there may be two streams of study: academic or vocational. What are the advantages for students and society of putting students into two streams at the age of fifteen?

he curriculum in educational institutions has been changing for decades. Some of the nations have been introducing academic and vocational education in schools for young students. However, this trend may provide significant benefits to children and the communities as it will enhance the overall development of the student by focusing on theoretical knowledge and enhancing career development. To commence, there are multifaceted advantages to dividing educational resources in two streams. The students will get guidance at an early age for building career in interested fields. The development of vocational training along with studies will help children locate the field of industry they might have an interest. The practical familiarity will consequently enhance their understanding of the aspect in broader terms at a younger age. This will benefit them in future as they will already possess the basic knowledge of the career building courses. For instance, if a 10th-standard student is interested in business and the school provides sessions that particularly focus on developing skills required to be a businessman, this will help the student be directed and clear of the profession he or she wants to pursue. On the other hand, there are benefits of the approach to society as well. The upcoming generation will be the future of the nation and if the students are guided to develop skills relevant to a profession, this will result in the emergence of a bright future for the nation and the communities. For example, some communities do not have many individuals in professional pathways as lack of finances and inability to access rural educational institutions hinder them from approaching amenities. Thus, if children from those backgrounds will get an education in the early years of their age, this will encourage them to start their businesses and course with the knowledge they possess. Hence, the establishment of businesses will have pros for society as well. To conclude, the notion of encouraging schools to provide vocational training in addition to theoretical content is of great significance for children as it will develop their skills and provide them guidance for building careers which will consequently help in developing society.