Some people believe that increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Traffic congestion and pollution due to the traffic have become widely debated topic. Many suggest that increasing petrol prices would solve the ongoing issue. This essay argues that increasing petrol prices would not be the solution and authorities have a crucial role in solving traffic and pollution by encouraging people to use public transportation and build new roads to ease the traffic. In today’s modern world, where overpopulation and pollution are one of the main problems in the society, increasing petrol prices would only hinder the situation. People obliged to use private vehicles due to lack of support of public transportations and roads. And increasing the price of petrol would not be the ultimate solution since people do not have any other alternatives. Public transportations work in limited schedules and routes, therefore people who work at night or where they work out of public services’ route cannot travel. Moreover, many public transports such trains or busses are expensive and uncomfortable to travel with due to overcrowding, leading people to choose their own automobile. All these reasons may cause traffic congestion and ultimately, pollution. Governments have a vital role in solving traffic and pollution problems. To mitigate this issue, public funds can be used to increase of routes and longer shifts for public transports such as bus, tram or trains in order to encourage people to use it in any time and destination. These services could have eco-friendly fuels or electric power to reduce pollution. Moreover, many public transports are expensive, therefore reducing the cost of the tickets could support passengers to use public transportation. Switching to public transport can significantly reduce people ’s carbon prints.Another solution could be to construct more roads in order to have alternative routes for drivers, this could significantly affect traffic congestion. In conclusion, raising the petrol prices are not effective enough to solve traffic and pollution.Authorities should provide citizens for better public transport with reasonable prices and alternative roads and encourage them to use more public transport in order to reduce pollution.