Some people think that the government should spend money on adult’s population who can’t read and write while others do not. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has always been a controversy regarding whether or not too little money is spent on improving the adult literacy rate. Many people argue that this should be a priority while many others hold opposing views. As far as I am concerned, I strongly agree with the statement that improving the literacy rate should be the main priority. First of all, the government should focus on increasing the number of adults who can read and write. This can be done by offering free public education and learning resources. If more individuals are educated, they will make better decisions that could improve their welfare and quality of life. For instance, if adults are educated, they will know how to keep track of their spending and are less likely to run into financial crises due to poor cash flow management. Moreover, if more older individuals are educated, they will have the skills to find a job. This reduces the percentage of the population who are unemployed and improves the development of the economy. Crime rates are likely to reduce as workers would have a stable income to afford their necessities and lifestyle. This would help reduce the poverty rate of the nation. However, there are still some who believe that there are more essential issues to tackle such as eradicating famine. Actually, what society doesn't realise is that improving the literacy percentage could push people above the poverty line. Improving education and skills would lead to better career opportunities so a stable income can be earned moving them out of hardship. In a nutshell, education is a fundamental pillar of the economy so the government should focus on increasing the number of adults that can read and write.