Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problem does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

In the past few years, the lack of fresh water has become a global issue. The depletion of this natural resource has caused a lot of concern. This essay will discuss the problems related to this shortage followed by various solutions to tackle this issue. The first and major problem that this shortage causes is a substantial rise in the death rate. Water is one of the most important components needed by humans. Without this renewable resource, humans will not exist. For instance, in African countries, fresh and clean water is not easily accessible. This lack of sanitation has led to diseases such as diarrhoea and cholera. Another problem caused by this scarce resource is the lack of agricultural output. If this resource is not available, farmers are unable to grow their fruits and vegetables, especially during the drought seasons. This could also lead to less food available as well as lower income for farmers. A lack of food could cause an increase in prices globally. This reduction in harvest could lead to lower GDP in the economy, which could cause poverty for farmers. Moreover, there are several ways to tackle this concern. Firstly, the UN could interfere by helping the government monitor the quality of water and install various infrastructure such as treatment plants and filters. If treatment plants are installed, water will undergo multiple processes such as adding chlorine to kill germs. The outcome of this would be safe and clean water that is supplied to homes. Furthermore, irrigation systems can be installed to ensure that the crops are getting enough moisture to grow. This improves the amount of agricultural products, which ensures that there is enough food to avoid hunger and famine. In conclusion, an absence of adequate and clean water could lead to more deaths as more people are getting sick. It also leads to less output produced as there is drought in farmlands. This problem could be solved by the interference of the UN and the government.