Many people nowadays spend a large of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, due to an upgraded lifestyle, mobile phones have become a crucial part of every human's life, and most people are engaged on their phones during their leisure time. In my opinion, the major reason behind this scenario is the multifunctionality and ease of access to information in smartphones that attracts people. However, it is a negative development as many individuals have become addicted to it, which in turn causes plenty of health issues. Undoubtedly, smartphones have made the lives of human beings easier due to the accessibility of information around the corner around clock. Moreover, due to the availability of distinct applications and regular upgradation in them, people even plan their day-to-day tasks using their tablets or phones. For example, in most offices today, there is a use of digital planners just to avoid paper and keep people updated about the information every minute. Consequently, masses spend their free hours playing digital games instead of traditional ones and keep checking their phones on a regular basis. However, this development has plenty of demerits for individuals as people; instead of doing physical recreational activities, they have started spending their precious leisure time on their digital gadgets, resultantly getting health issues such as obesity, heart-related and many other types of diseases. In addition to this, some people start getting overwhelmed and comparing their lives to the people they see on social media, which impacts them negatively. Consequently, there is an increase in cases of depression and anxiety issues. For instance, a study conducted by Harvard University has proven that the cause of depression among the majority of young people is their overuse of phones and media. In conclusion, the availability of information and increasing dependency on applications for planning daily tasks are the main reasons for investing the free time by people on phones, which impacts the life of people negatively, as they cause health problems due to addiction caused by them.