Economic growth and development are usually considered to be beneficial both for individuals and for society as a whole. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, most countries have improved their living through economic growth, despite some associated social risks. This essay will highlight how the benefits of poverty reduction as well as technological advancement outweigh the loss of historical-cultural value. One major advantage of economic gains is the reduction of poverty. In other words, if the economy develops, it will create more vocations, which help lift people out of penury. Take Vietnam as an example, the beggary rate decreased when they started to attract foreign investment and develop the economy significantly. As a result, people might access education work and food easily. Another significant advantage is technological advancement. That is to say, when the region’s economy grows, technology will be applied to healthcare, education and work, resulting the comfort and convenience in life. For instance, China, which is the second largest economy in the world, has a lot of modern technologies such as delivery robots or automatic cars. Hence, citizens’ lives will be improved. On the other hand, economic growth can vanish the historical and cultural values. Because of a quickly developing economy, countries can easily lose their social value by affecting other regions’ cultures. Nevertheless, leading nations use their finance from economic gains to recover their culture and history. For example, in South Korea, where governments invest in restoring and preserving historical sites and promote culture to be widespread across the world through films and songs. Therefore, these attract tourists so as to contribute to the economy allowing culture to grow in tandem. n conclusion, although robust economies may lose historical and cultural identity, the benefits of poverty reduction and technological advancements outweigh these drawbacks.