Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that, in primary education, music, art and drama have equal importance as same as curriculum subjects. I agree with this statement because it identifies hidden talent and improves cognitive skills in children. At the elementary level, it is easy to identify the hidden talent when they are exposed to theatre play, painting, crafting and music composition. This helps teachers and parents nurture children’s talents, which can be a hobby in their life, or they can choose it as a career in adulthood. For example, in Canada, the junior schools have music and acting as subjects. And the school showcase the success stories of many past students who chose it as a career and became well know established Musicians and Actors. Also, at the lower level grades, the minds of grade-schoolers are very open to learn new skills. This helps children to improve their concentration, problem-solving skills and logical thinking, which is essential for their future. As they grow, it also helps them understand the complex concepts and adapt to new situations, which is really required for their career. For instance, in the US, the kids who are exposed to visual arts are intellectual and understand the emotional value very well when compared to the other students who have not undergone this education. In conclusion, apart from maths, science, social and language subjects’s students should also learn fine arts as part of early education. Because it helps them to identify their interest and improves their logical thinking, which is essential for adulthood.