In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some people tell children to work hard to achieve their dreams based on their culture. It has benefits such as preparing children to become more persistent and optimistic. Meanwhile, it leads to more people with too much work and statements that they will difficult to accept the failures. On the one hand, children who are told to achieve something by working hard will be resulting to be more persistent. It is because they always give their full effort to do their responsibilities, even though the path to their goal is very challenging. For instance, Bandung Elementary School, which has a very competitive exam among other schools, teach their students to study harder to be the top students. Additionally, being told to try hard has an impact on becoming more optimistic because of the positive mindset that believes their clear visions which they imagine is achievable. On the other hand, there is also a drawback of telling children that they will have what they want if they work hard, which is figuring out more children and even adults doing too much work. The reason is that they believe that the only factor to determine their success is solely paying more attention to their work. It is not an appropriate personality, because they will forget about other factors that are also important. In addition, it will be difficult to move on from one failure because they think they have already given a full effort. For example, a study conducted by ITB found that 30% of their students encounter depression because it is the first failure in their life even though they have studied over time, and it takes more than a year for them to recover. In conclusion, giving advice to try hard in order to meet their goals has some positive as well as negative impacts on children. It can produce more persistent and optimistic characteristics of people, but more people work over their capacity and more people who cannot wisely accept if they fail.