Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Various convicted individuals can have a change of heart, and people have different views on whether they are suitable to converse with adolescents about the consequences of violating the law. I fully agree with this statement. Firstly, reformed criminals are able to understand and reiterate the psychological and emotional state they were in at the time of the crime. By talking about their own experiences in-depth, the younger generation can realize the severity of how one's mental state affects their actions. This can serve as an educational experience for students who wish to pursue a career related to the field of crime. For instance, some universities and schools invite offenders who have been released to talk to students, allowing students to hear and learn about how and why some people become criminals. Secondly, those who have been incarcerated have experienced first-hand the environment of jail and its effects on their mental health. They are able to describe the difficulties of living there, and the harsh surroundings and lack of familial interactions. Moreover, these challenges never completely disappear as they may have lost the ability to live normally. For example, some prisons turn a blind eye to the mistreatment of the convicted. Additionally, some family members may refuse to see them in prison due to their disappointment and shame. Therefore, having little to no communication with normal individuals and abusive treatment decreases the chances of the incarcerated being able to assimilate into society when released. In conclusion, past offenders are the best people to speak to teenagers about the risk of committing crimes as their advice would appear to hold more weight compared to someone who has never experienced a life of crime. Furthermore, there are some details on confinement and rehabilitation that only an ex-criminal would know about.