Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A lot of adolescents who finish high school tend to spend a year travelling or working before they start their studies at university. This experience of activities outside academics provides them with some advantages when coming back to education. I totally agree with this statement because of stimulation in terms of perspectives and because of attaining more knowledge outside their majors which might be helpful in their academics. To start with, experiencing a variety of things besides studying can contribute to broadening their cultural knowledge, which is essential after entering university as well as entering a job market. This is because working with a different group of people from all walks of life and experiencing foreign cultures as a first-hand experience stimulates their brains, leading them to think in various ways and with differing perspectives. For example, according to a public opinion poll conducted by the Japanese government in 2022, it is said that 90% of young people who lived in foreign countries for a certain period of time can think and act more resourcefully when facing challenges at work or in studies than those who spent their entire life in their nations. Moreover, by taking a gap year and experiencing work or travel, teenagers can actually deepen their studies, which might be more beneficial to their academic futures. This is attributed to a wider variety of thinking ways and more knowledge based on their experience outside their majors. To illustrate this, in China, a preponderance of high school teachers encourage their students to study abroad or to work before entering college as it is beneficial for them to study their future majors at a deeper level. As a result, a majority of universities in China are said to be on the list of most famous universities in the world. In conclusion, it is said that it brings some benefits for a large number of youth to spend a year outside their studies such as going abroad or participating in an internship. I completely concur with this viewpoint as this kind of year can lead you to further development in your knowledge and can help your academic goals become more successful in the future.