Some people think young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others think that they should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been an ongoing debate about whether teenagers should keep the traditional values of their community or become independent people. I firmly believe that although driving people to keep their traditions may preserve cultural identity, the rise of individualism offers more appealing benefits. On the one hand, valuing customs helps people protect their cultural identity. In other words, if individuals appreciate their cultural properties, they will maintain their distinctiveness which are signs to differentiate them from other peoples. As a result, the teenagers, especially nationalists, will be encouraged in terms of morale which in turn fosters them to give their best effort in order to contribute to social well-being as well as the existence of their culture. On the other hand, people granted independence raise individualism. To clarify, the young can reach their true potential which promotes them to acquire personal autonomy because they can push their boundaries without cultural restrictions so they have a solid foundation which helps them stand on their own feet. As a direct result, they become superior individuals who have the competence and experience to play a key role in societal development. From my perspective, while cultural conservation provides remarkable cultural identity, it is undermined by the independence of each individual. That is to say, culture itself attracts people due to its uniqueness and meanings, yet people should not be forced to obey it, otherwise, they will be annoyed and enraged which may lead to anti-social actions such as vandalism or racism. In contrast, those who prioritize their personal autonomy do not actually lose the original values of their cultures, but some of them who are interested in their custom enrich and popularize them so as to raise community awareness of their culture. In conclusion, while both sides show some truth, I believe that the argument leans toward personal freedom as it helps individuals become helpful citizens, regardless of the intellectual values which cultural identity delivers. Ultimately, instead of overshadowing traditions, independence lovers may contribute to their culture if they are attracted by it.