In some countires, many young people choose to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universitiy studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages. Do the adv outweighed by the disadv

There can be no doubt that the topic of what high schoolers should do post-graduate is one which deserves some consideration. It is the view of this writer that the evidence is on the side of those who believe this is a positive trend. Central to this issue is the point that this allows students to gain experience. This is due to the fact that travelling gives out opportunity for pupils to open their mind which later benefits them with the right career path. One should also note that post-graduate is an ideal period to see the world while working since they have plentiful time to reconsider and trying new things. A clear-cut example of this would be Vietnamese students where the majority of whom started university as soon as they graduated which later, they regetted rejected as they barely had time for travelling, additionally, they struggled to find jobs because of lacking necessary skills. Relaxation should also be taken into account. As should be self-evident, high school is extremely stressful and demanding as pupils are forced to prepare for upcoming exams as well as expected to be ready before every lessons. It should also be mentioned that university studies are similarly demanding and stressful with dissertations and essays and tight deadlines. Because of this, relaxing after finishing high school is necessary and urgently needed so as to see the world as aforementioned and relax. However, there is a different point of view which holds that taking a gap year causes high schoolers to lose track. This can be atributted to students who soon become lazy prior to chase short-term pleasure instead of pursuing higher education. Furthermore, one should acknowledge that by enjoying, they are risking to sink deeply in the pleasure cycle where they are constantly seeking for more. This is supported by a recent study by Cambridge university, which indicated that 30% of drop-outs in small institution in the US are those who previously took a year to experience life. Thus it can be seen that losing track is outweighed by gaining experience and relaxing. Therefore, there is ample evidence to conclude that dismissing a full year before starting higher education is mostly positive.