Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodworking should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family. To that extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout the world have debated on the academics of students and some people argue that educational institutes should focus only on formal education and success instead of practical skills which can be learned from parents. However, I personally consider that due to a variety of career opportunities as well as the need to balance stress levels, skills like dressmaking, cookery and woodworking should be taught in learning institutes. To commence with, schools should teach practical skills, because some students may not have access to free time for the family or sometimes they might have less experience in teaching. Additionally, teaching skills at schools help children develop their personal interests and creativity, subsequently giving them the opportunity to choose their careers in various fields. In simple words, students who do not excel academically can still explore their goals in different sectors. For example, Gurkirat Singh, the winner of Masterchef India, used to be an average student but after discovering interest in cooking at school years, made him pursue that career to achieve success. Furthermore, in the context of stress management, focusing exclusively on exam preparation brings high levels of stress among scholars. In other words, to gain more success, scholars burn candles on both ends,which makes them feel anxious or stressed. Nevertheless, non-academic skills act as stress relievers and encourage them to maintain a healthy balance. For instance, in Canada, many colleges require students to take a life-learning subject as part of their course, to give them a break from the pressures of academics. In a nutshell, real-world skills emphasise personality by tracing talent and personal interests as well as creating a balance in their lifestyles. In addition, in order to seek skills, educational institutions should be considered, because of a holistic education approach rather than parents who are less experienced teachers and their availability.