Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many young adults spend their leisure time shopping and looking for new things to purchase. This could be due to the high amount of offers that people are confronted with. In this essay, I want to review while this can be a good use of someones time, it also holds some dangers and can shift to a negative. Nowadays, teens dont just go out shopping when they need something but also to meet friends and socialize while looking for new items to buy. Big shopping malls nowadays dont just offer products anymore, they also offer a place to relax, meet and get food together. This makes them a magnet for young individuals to come and hang out with friends. And whilst there, they can bond over new shoes or clothing and share opinions regarding those products. Therefore, shopping shifted from a necessity to a meet and greet for young adults and a way to exchange opinions and preferences. Consequently, shopping with friends becomes a good use of free-time activities and helps minors to get to know each other in a very different manner and bond over mutual interests. However, it can get to a point, where younglings feel the need to purchase new items only to keep their friends. For example, if one friend has the money to buy certain products, the other friend feels the need he has to get them as well, even tho he has no money for it. This in return can shatter friendships, which could be avoided by doing different things than shopping or communicating about the situation, which is often hard for youngsters. In conclusion, shopping can bring young adults together and find shared interests. Although, this only works if friendships also exist outside of shopping activities and dont force anyone to participate. I firmly believe, shopping can be a positive use of someones time, if it doesn´t become the main activity.