Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution problems

Environmental pollution is often regarded as the main reason of illnesses and diseases. As such, many believe that local authorities should utilize the resources to mitigate this issue. The following essay will provide evidence to explore why I personally both agree and disagree with the aforementioned statement. Firstly, the reason why I agree with the statement is because environmental pollution increases the chance of respiratory illnesses, which is often caused by dust, fumes and other harmful chemicals in the air. As a result, citizens could suffer from allergies or asthma. Due to these reason, local authorities should allocate resources to deal with climate degradation. However, given the reasons above, the reduction of pollution is not the only matter the government should focus on because other factors, such as healthcare quality, should also be prioritised in order to reduce health issues. As a matter of fact, illnesses can occur from a number of causes, not just pollution, therefore, by investing into and developing the quality of national healthcare, all types of diseases could be effectively prevented and cured, which would allow the well-being of the citizens to be greatly enhanced. In brief, cased on my personal view, I hold a neutral opinion regarding this matter because focusing government effort into reducing pollution could be an effective way to reduce health issues. Nonetheless, effort should also be made in increasing the quality of health services as it can broadly counter many illnesses and diseases.