In some countries, more and more people are hiring a personal fitness trainer, rather than playing sports or doing exercise classes. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, in Western countries most people consider having their own personal trainer the best choice to pursue their goals in well-being area. Although attending gym classes or practicing outdoor activities might represent the simpliest and the most economical way to stay healthy, it is true that people see more advantages on having a personalised path to follow. I think that this trend is positive because everyone has different needs in term of time, objectives and approach which cannot be taken into cosideration in a group situation. Firstly, even though going to the gym or participating to classes is the cheapest and more convenient way to praticing sports, this has also some drawbacks related mainly to the lack of flexibility of timetables and the impossibility to attend personalized courses. For instance, lots of professionals who usually works over common working-time cannot benefit from standard group classes, as they need to maximize the effectiveness of their training. Secondly, personalization of traing helps people reaching their health objectives more rapidly and constantly. The presence of a tranier who draws a peculiar package of exercises and follows people step by step, working also on motivation and mindfulness, can make the difference. Moreover, it is demonstated by research from San Raffaele University that trainees who follow a personalised path reach their goals twice than the other in half time; and, even more important, they are likely to abandon sport activities three times less than who goes to the gym. To conclude, I believe that the growing presence of personal trainers drives some important benefits for modern people who have understood the importance of being followed by professionals aimed to develop their abilities and to focus on their strengths, minimising the impact of their weaknesses.