To meet the growing need for food for the increasing population, the country should make use of edible insects as food. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

With the growing population and their dependence on food resources, there has been a demand of using edible insects as food. While some believe that they are unhealthy and harmful for the environment, others consider that their abundance in nature makes it beneficial. On one hand, Eating insects threatens the environment. This is because there are animals and plants that highly depend on insects as food for their growth, and once deprived, the species are in turn affected by it. Moreover, insects act as a carrier of many disease causing pathogens, making it harmful. For example, when people eat ticks living in the forest, they develop life threatening heart disease with low prognosis. On other hand, others believe that using insects as food prevent other resources from being reduced. With the population growing, resources are easily getting deprived, and thereby, countries are finding new resources, such as insects, from being scarce. For example, China had encouraged local vendors to sell fry insects in stalls to encourage people to adopt a habit of eating them. In conclusion, although eating edible insects have prevented other resouces from being deprived, the drawbacks of leading to harmful diseases and threatening the environment exist.