It is known to all that the technological and scientific advances have made great changes to the range and quality of our food. Some people regard it as an improvement while others believe that the change is harmful. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is irrefutable that the utilisation of technology and science propelled the manufacturing of food and indubitably increased the variety of food available to us. However, this development has supporters and opposers. Proponents of this development perceive this in a good light. Whereas, others have strong convictions against this line of thought. This essay will elucidate both perceptions and outline my position on the matter. I believe that though we have expedited our meal processing, we must be very cautious of the adverse consequences of doing so. People who support the use of science in food manufacturing have a myriad of reasons they do so. Firstly, automation increased the speed at which food is prepared and in turn, this supports the busy lives led in this contemporary world. For instance, instead of staying up late to cook after a long day at work, one may easily utilise the MacDonalds fast food restaurant to purchase any of the many meal options on the menu to eat. Because of technological advancements, the nourishment is ready in less than 10 minutes. Secondly, there are many different cuisine outlets that offer a galore of cuisine options to choose from, thereby increasing the variety of foods. Not only will this mean one may retire to bed early, but it also frees time for other productive life pursuits such as part-time studying. However, processing foodstuffs also comes with its downsides as would be highlighted by opponents of this view. Imperatively, the most taxing of these is health problems. Studies across the world reveal that fast- food restaurants use oil to fry the chicken they sell. Consequently, this leads to increased cholesterol levels in our bodies which warrants heart problems. In fact, build-up of fats in the blood is not only detrimental to the heart, it is also the largest contributor to obesity. To put things into perspective, let us consider a hypothetical situation. If you consume MacDonald's food on a regular basis, over time you will become obese. Unless you stop, eventually, you will suffer from heart disease as fat builds up in your arteries and impedes blood flow. Inevitably, this will lead to high blood pressure which will imminently cause strokes, if not resolved in time. My opinion is that the use of automation is good. However, we must regulate the consumption of these oily edibles to reduce the likelihood of developing diseases. Individuals in society should be educated on the benefits and potential disadvantages associated with excessive consumption of these edibles. In conclusion, science, undoubtedly facilitates easier preparation of food, albeit at the expense of our well-being. I believe we should raise awareness on this matter so that people are conscious of the potential decline in their health that is linked to excessive consumption of fried edibles.