In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

In certain nations, shopping in big malls of cities are preferred by many individuals who live in smaller towns. This is because smaller town stores are going out of business. Moreover, people who do not own vehicles have no options left to do shopping due to this, the number of cars is increasing on the roads. In this essay, I will explain the demerits which are more compared to merits. The first and foremost disadvantage is that the masses would need a good amount of money to purchase cars as vehicles are expensive these days. In addition to this, they need fuel for cars to drive from their cities to big towns and gasoline are also costly nowadays. Furthermore, every other month four wheelers need service and machines also charge a good amount of money. As a result, people would survive more and they would need to do some extra work to earn more. The second drawback is that the increase in the number of cars would also affect the environment. These vehicles emit harmful gasses which pollute the air in our surroundings. For example, last year, China found in research that air pollution has increased dramatically in the present compared to the past when folks used to have fewer cars. As a consequence, the number of people who are suffering from asthma is rising. However, there is an advantage of shopping from large out-of-town stores as they not only keep a wider range of products and items but also give discounts on certain things. To explain it, when they do shopping in smaller towns, they are unable to make choices because of limited stuff but on the other hand, in big towns, if they want to buy a bag then there would number of options available for them with some discounted bags. Consequently, they would save some money from discounts compared to small towns, where there is nothing on sale. In conclusion, although there is a merit of doing shopping in big cities because of some discounts, there are more disadvantages such as losing more than saving and an incline in air pollution.