Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The debate about whether people should learn a new language only for jobs and travel, or there are other reasons, remains a contentious topic. Although both perspectives hold merit, I firmly believe that there are indeed other reasons for learning new languages. On the one hand, some see it unnecessary to learn languages other than for work or travel. Indeed, some treasure their mother tongues and expect others to speak them. For example, studies show that Germans only communicate in their language, even when interacting with tourists. To elaborate, only Germans living outside their homeland have to speak English or any other language. In addition, this is applied to Turkish citizens too. Therefore, some nations treasure their mother tongues and rarely use foreign languages. On the other hand, some consider learning foreign languages as a hobby. Granted, becoming multilingual can help strengthen learning skills and enhance understanding. Moreover, this can foster a sense of effective communication between people, as they can make new friends and understand different cultures and traditions. For example, the famous Colombian singer Shakira, knows six languages, which have helped her perform concerts worldwide and gain popularity, many fans know her lyrics, as she releases music in different regions. Hence, speaking foreign tongues enhances communication and allows for exploring other cultures. In conclusion, although both views have numerous advantages, I firmly believe that knowing more languages can help a person understand different ethnicities and strengthen connection skills.