Many people nowadays spend a large of their free time using a smartphone. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that a lot of citizens nowadays spend a significant amount of their free time utilising their smartphones. In this essay, I will offer two possible reasons for this phenomenon and go on to explain why this development is disadvantageous. First and foremost, in the modern world, many people spend a lot of their leisure time with their mobile phones in order to entertain themselves. For this purpose, they use different apps or browse online pages. For example, they play a variety of video games, read e-books, watch videos or listen to music. Moreover, many users liaise with their nearest and dearest or their friends using smartphones. It can be done via messaging apps such as WhatsApp and Telegram, for instance. Therefore, all these activities take a great amount of citizens' free time. However, I take the view that this development is negative because it is a threat to people's social lives. Staying online, they, quite often avoid face-to-face meetings with others. They have got used to life in a virtual world, which leads to situations where they do not know how to act in reality. While a few decades ago people were very sociable as they organised different parties or gathered together on many different occasions which allowed them to make new friends easily, nowadays, because of the opportunity to communicate online, this has become much more complicated. In addition, smartphones might be quite addictive. Fairly often, users just scroll up and down with no purpose and cannot stop doing that, which means they simply waste their time. In conclusion, I consider that people spend a large of their free time using a smartphone because they want to entertain themselves and keep in touch with their relatives and friends. Despite that, I am convinced that this development is disadvantageous, for two main reasons.